Inspiring Stories, Life, My Text, Positivity

A braindead woman turns lifesaver for six people!

“A braindead woman turns lifesaver for six people!” Before I proceed further, I have a question for my readers. “Please answer after reading the blog via a comment if you think the title of my Blog is appropriate?”

It is so heartening to read such News of ‘organ donation’. More so when it is from my own country India where we still remain very conservative about organ donation. It is no easy task for a normal family here to break-out of narrow confines of traditional rituals we follow after the death of a near one. Below are some details of this ‘path-breaking’ action so courageously taken by the family of the departed soul.

Surat donor01

This is a story of Kiran Lakdawala, wife of a social worker Kalpesh Lakdawala,in Surat Gujrat (India). She was experiencing persistent headache since middle of June 2019 and was bedridden and immobile. Her family members took her to BAPS hospital. There she fell unconscious. Her MRI scan revealed that she had a massive brain haemorrhage. She was declared ‘brain dead’ on 20th June 2019. As per her own wish while alive and also that of her next to kin they donated her all possible organs, six in all to different people.
Her organs transplanted are : Heart, Lung, Kidney and Eyes.
Different clinics and hospitals accepted her precious gifts that gave new life and hope to six different people. From 1 she became 6, living in six different souls!
All this was facilitated by an NGO “DONATE LIFE INDIA”. (https://www.donatelife.org.in/)

All the recipients and their family members must be feeling so grateful not only to the late donor but also her family member who showed the courage to take the step for multiple organ donation. The society as a whole plaudits the courage of the family members to break the chains of superstition and rise above the conservative mind set to give new lease of life to as many as six people.

God bless them all!

ps.: Wondering, why did I put forward the question whether the title of my blog is appropriate.  Looks very appropriate. Right! Well I think more appropriate would be:
“Family of a Braindead Woman Turns Lifesaver for Six People!”
I firmly believe that nothing works for eye-donation, cadaver donation or organ donation unless the next to kin agree!  I have experienced first-hand such disputes after death among the family members. When my brother-in-law (my sister’s husband) died his wish was to donate his body to any medical college but the entire family almost revolted. It was the firm resolve of my sister that finally his body was donated for Medical studies purpose to a Medical College in Vadodara

Leave a comment